Board & Volunteer Teams

Board of Trustees

  • Bobbie Theivakumaran, Chair
  • Gary Tilbor, Vice Chair
  • Stuart Schooler, Treasurer
  • Jason Delia, Secretary
  • Diana Callinan
  • Daniel Cea
  • Jenny Lai
  • Sean Massey
  • Jace C. McColley
  • Jay Muldoon
  • Angie Quinonez
  • Amar Singh
  • Meg Loftus Suchan

Volunteer Teams

The Main Street Approach empowers volunteers to take action in areas representing each of the Four-Points: Economic, Promotion, Organization, and Design. These overlap with the four elements of real estate value (economic, social, civic, and physical). Metuchen has selected two “Transformation Strategies” – Innovation and Family Friendly. These allow us to work across the four points to align resources and achieve greater impact, particularly as it relates to economic development.

Organization Team (Civic)

Organization involves creating a strong foundation for a sustainable revitalization effort, including cultivating partnerships, community involvement, and resources for the district. Help with managing our sponsorship program, resident campaign program, and other fundraising to support the work of our organization.

Promotion Team (Social)

The Promotion Team does image building and develops marketing materials to entice people to shop, invest, live, and visit downtown. Retail promotions encourage consumer traffic in the downtown and make cash registers ring. Promotion positions the downtown or commercial district as the center of the community and hub of economic activity, while creating a positive image that showcases a community’s unique characteristics. Continue the process of turning Metuchen into a convenient regional destination for families and kids where something fun, new, and exciting is always happening. Help activate the downtown with all the opportunities, products, activities, and experiences that today’s family needs and wants. This includes the Town Plaza, which will become a place for people to gather daily and for extraordinary events.

Communications Team
We’re working hard to get the message out about Downtown Metuchen through earned and unearned opportunities. Help us find the right mix of tv, print, and other marketing to enhance the image of the downtown.

Design Team (Physical)

Design supports a community’s transformation by enhancing the physical and visual assets that set the commercial district apart.

Public Art Team
Enhance the image of the downtown with new and exciting public art. Assist with implementing the MDA Public Art Policy developed with support from a public arts professional. Contribute to the continuous improvement of the downtown through public art.

Storefront Team
Guide businesses through the process of upgrading and improving their storefronts. Assist them with planning and implementation of improvements. Work with MDA, consultants, and the Borough to facilitate best design practices that enhance shopability, visibility, and aesthetics downtown.

Clean & Green Team
Make sure the planters are seasonally refreshed, and the streets and sidewalks remain clean and in their top physical condition.

Innovation Team (Economic)

Economic vitality focuses on capital, incentives, and other economic and financial tools to assist new and existing businesses, catalyze property development, and create a supportive environment for entrepreneurs and innovators that drive local economies. Matching grants complement teamwork, enabling businesses to implement innovations in products and services while reducing capital required and downside risk, and to also make improvements to their storefront, signage and visual merchandising.

Tech Team
Build on Metuchen’s heritage of independent, creative people to cultivate innovative and unique small businesses, entrepreneurs, and artists. Examples include business education, advocacy, recruitment/retention, and more. Our Tech Team helps businesses use technology to grow.

Business Recruitment Team
Identify potential businesses (permanent and pop-up) that respond to Metuchen’s market and speak to the characteristics of creativity and uniqueness.